Darcy Paper

Pride and Prejudice can be inspiring for many different reasons.  For Eva Whitney, a 24 year old living in New York City, it was Mr. Darcy who inspired her new original stationery line Darcy Paper– a combination of classic and quirky designs to suit almost every taste and occasion.  Seriously these invites, cards and so on are just way too cute- I can’t take my eyes off of them.


“Born and raised in Manhattan” until the age of 12, Eva’s main job is as a social worker.  But she says that she loves “crafting and writing”, and this project is the ultimate combination of both.  I had the pleasure of interviewing her for The Bennet Sisters to find out what exactly the “Darcy” is in “Darcy Paper”.

When did you first fall in love with Pride and Prejudice?

I first fell in love with Pride and Prejudice when I read it for a high school English class. I was intrigued and impressed by the witty banter between the characters, especially Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy. The novel indulges my longing for more depth and clever subtleties in modern communication. Don’t get me wrong, I like Twitter’s 140 character limit as much as the next person, but even more, for example, I like being pleasantly surprised by a thoughtful, well-written Tweet. Bonus points if I have to look up a word in the dictionary! I also have tremendous respect for female authors who wrote during a time when it was edgy and rebellious for them to do so. Jane Austen and the Bronte sisters included. An interesting story behind the author always adds a little extra something.
 
Why did you choose to name Darcy Paper after Mr. Darcy?

Choosing the name “Darcy Paper” was a bit of a journey that brought together different elements. I wanted it to be something substantive and enduring, like a beloved classic novel. Plus, Pride and Prejudice is a great romance and I think that today, cards and letters have a certain romantic appeal. Out of all of the novel’s characters, Darcy is my favorite name and I just liked the way is sounded- “Darcy Paper.”


 

How would you describe your artistic style?

I would describe my artistic style as understated or even minimalist. I try to create cards that are simple, charming and endearing.

Where do the ideas for your stationary designs come from?

When dreaming up designs, I brainstorm different sayings or images associated with the card’s message. For example, for the cupcake thank you notes, I began by thinking about how I personally say thank you and often it’s about complimenting someone- “you’re sweet” and what better image than a yummy baked good! Texture and layers are also a must with my stationery. If I can use 3 or 4 materials on one card, I’m happy! Of course, I am also inspired each day by the sights, smells, sounds, tastes and touch of New York City. 
 
Do you take custom orders?

I absolutely will work with someone on a custom order! If anyone wants to buy the cards that they see on my blog or create something totally new with me [they can] email me. Until I get a more solid online following, I can’t really open an extensive shop and list cards without a guaranteed buyer. Hopefully soon though! Ed.- Eva now has a shop link on the Darcy Paper website.
 
Any future plans?

My dream is to learn everything I can about the letterpress and incorporate it into my stationery…one day….
 

Have you always been interested in art and creative efforts?

I have always been into art, both making and appreciating it. My mom is a journalist and my dad is a graphic designer, so I grew up around creativity. After an elementary school fieldtrip to the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, my teacher asked us all to write a few sentences of reflection. I was 7 years old and I remember scrawling, “I have already seen the art we looked at today because I go there ALL THE TIME with my mom and dad.” Repeat visits to a world-famous museum may have seemed silly to me at the time, but when I grew a little older, I quickly realized the value of my early and continued exposure to all things art.

What is your favourite line from Pride and Prejudice?

I have many favorite lines from Pride and Prejudice, but I rather like when Jane and Elizabeth are talking about Mr. Bingley’s sudden departure and his sister’s praise of Miss Darcy. Jane says, “I am not ashamed of having been mistaken- or at least, it is slight, it is nothing in comparison of what I should feel in thinking ill of him or his sisters. Let me take it in the best light, in the light in which it may be understood.” Who can argue with such a half-glass full perspective? People who are truly always looking for the good are such a rarity and when I read this line, it reminds me to be a little more positive.    

How can we get in touch with you? 

I would love to hear from everyone! Email me evawhit@gmail.com, follow me on Twitter @evawhitnyc, find me on Facebook (Darcy Paper) or leave a comment on my blog. P.s. I’d be delighted to get to 100 fans/followers!

Darcy Paper

All the photos are courtesy of Eva Whitney, the creator of Darcy Paper.

So, check out her work and let me know what you think.  The halloween designs totally had me going “SQUEEE!!” they were that adorable.  And around this time of year, with Christmas and other celebrations coming up- what better than to have original designs in the name of one of our most beloved fictional characters to give to the relatives?  Perfection.

2 Comments

Filed under Artist Profile, Q&A

2 responses to “Darcy Paper

  1. Eva

    It’s such an honor to be featured! Thanks again, Jennie!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Darcy Paper « The Bennet Sisters -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

