Artist Profile: Hala Zabaneh

“Because I love Pride and Prejudice, and Jane Austen.”- Hala Zabaneh


(Hala Zabaneh’s coloured cover for Pride and Prejudice, entitled “The Bennet Sisters”)

Hala Zabaneh is a talented young artist with a love for Austen.  As we all love everything Pride and Prejudice inspired, particularly visual representations, I thought it would be nice to feature some of her incredible work through a profile.  There is a whimsical, yet modernist, approach to her work that suits Elizabeth Bennet particularly well. 

Hala has been inspired a lot by Harry Potter, which is apparent through her work (I particularly love her representation ‘The Boy Who lived- color’), as well as books like Twilight as well as a bit of the X-Files and some Disney, many of which can be seen under her ~PrimeHunter DeviantART account, which features over 100 pieces of her work and almost 42,000 page views.

So, without much further ado, here is the Q&A with Hala, our first artist profile!

 

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I am from Jordan, the country, but have been residing in Canada for the past ten years as a student. I’m 28 years of age and I am currently acquiring my After degree BFA in Technical Dramatic Arts, my first degree being BFA in New Media. I currently don’t have pets! If I did they would be so sadly neglected due to my busy schedule! Maybe one day i will get a cute small doggy :D.

Are you a professional, amateur or leisurely artist? 

 I am definitely a professional artist :), I am done many a work for money :D. But I am also pursuing it as part of my career, for sure.

 

What sort of style is your artwork? 

I would say it is mostly conceptual art and Graphic Design. I do both traditional and digital, sometimes both in one piece, depends on what the artwork demands. I use many mediums to do my art: I use pencil (mostly, watercolor, pen, Ink, dry and wet pastels, charcol and acrylic paint).

 

Do you research your art, or is it a spur of the moment thing?

Depends on the piece. If it is based off a book, movie or game, or if its influenced by history or culture, then yes.

 

How do you go about starting an artwork?

I usually begin with a pencil and a sketch book :).

 

Who is your favourite artist?

Stephanie Puimun Law (whose art you can see via her website)

 

What is your favourite book?

This one is hard to choose, but the one series that mostly influenced my art is Harry Potter for sure.


(Another piece by Hala Zabaneh, entitled “Winds of Pemberly”)

What are some of the responses you have been getting about your art?

Generally it is positive feed back, and some very interesting constructive criticism.

 

Have you read the book and/or seen the film of Pride and Prejudice?

I have both read and seen every possible rendition on TV and Film for this book. My favorites are definitely the BBC series of 1990s and the 2005 movie version.

 

What is something unusual about you?

I have an extremely vivid imagination, which even scares me sometimes!

 

Other than art, what other hobbies do you have?

I love to run, swim, go outdoors, watch as many movies and TV shows and read as many books as I can. I also love to write, sing and act!


(Hala’s Jane Austen and Tom Lefroy inspired piece, “Jane and Tom”, an earlier work)

To contact Hala, and to see these artworks and other art by her, go to her DevianART art account or email her on hala.zabaneh@uleth.ca

Leave a comment

Filed under Artist Profile

Leave a Reply

