Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth together again?

I hate to keep up with Hollywood gossip, and what actors/actresses are doing, but ever since the A&E/BBC ’95 Pride and Prejudice with Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth, I have personally longed to see them both grace the screen together again.  My wish was granted, in a bizarre way, with both having returned to act in The King’s Speech (released 10 December 2010), which I have just seen at the movies.

Jennifer Ehle, sporting a rather natural sounding Australian accent (despite the majority of P&P lovers knowing her with a British accent, and her natural voice being that of American descent), plays the wife of Aussie speech therapist Lionel.  Colin Firth plays King George, a great man with a speech impediment (a very convincing stutter).  You can see where this is going.  I know from the multitude of interviews I have read of Mr. Firth’s that he is very irritated about the typecasting that comes from being (the greatest) Mr. Darcy (of all time).  So I shan’t hesitate to say that his character is extremely different in this film, and very successful despite this fact.  His portrayal of King George was incredible, and everything about this movie appealed to me- especially from an Australian standpoint.  The jokes about Australian culture had the theatre’s capacity in stitches throughout, and Helena Bonham-Carter was a fantastic addition to the cast- taking on an upright motherly role that one would have thought was out of her comfort zone.  Apparently not.  The film desperately deserves an oscar, and I was personally very impressed with the script, cast and the beautiful settings used.

However, this isn’t the only pairing we can catch on the big screen this year.  Keira Knightley and Carey Mulligan (both starring previously in the 2005 Pride and Prejudice, as Elizabeth and Kitty respectively) are back together in Never Let Me Go- a romance about clones and whatnot that looks fantastic, and is based on the 2005 book of the same name.  While Knightley never fails to annoy me, I cannot discredit that this looks like an intriguing sci-fi/romance:

For the “squeal” factor update I’ll just point out that Matthew Macfadyen is set to star with Orlando Bloom in The Three Musketeers (to be released on 13th October).  From the rumour-mill is that James McAvoy and Anne Hathaway may be cast in Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.  Personally, I had enough of the pairing in Becoming Jane- although McAvoy with a different female lead would perhaps work.  Thoughts?  Any how, did you like The King’s Speech?

9 Comments

Filed under Movie Review, Preview

9 responses to “Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth together again?

  1. Pingback: Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth together again? | The Bennet Sisters | A List Celebrity News Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth together again? | The Bennet Sisters |

  2. Debbie

    They played off each other very well. Its to bad today movies have sunk to a new low to get people to see them.

  3. hopelessromantic

    McAvoy and Hathaway were cute in Becoming Jane..except for the height issue. Besides that very small detail it would be great to see them together in another period film. I think that some of their best work is in period films.

  4. Mai

    I love all the coulpes mentioned, especially Firth and Ehle; they were just fantastic:)

  5. I love Pride and Prejudice so much that I’ve seen it about 25 times! I have seen King Speech about 10 times. Ehle and Firth are great together. Is one of Colin Firth’s hobbies swimming underwater? Bill Chapman
    Downey, California

    • JennieDuke

      I am about the same! Both were such quality productions, and even though they barely interacted in The King’s Speech, both of them were just pure class and really owned their characters. I wouldn’t expect anything less!

  6. jean bennett

    Ehle: First Class ….. Firth First in Dimples and grins … both Excellence personafide as Actors … hope to see them paired in the future. And contrary to popular sentiment I do not hate Colin’s wife ….I think hate is a harsh word …. but let’s face it …. does she realllyyyyyy know …. well …..

  7. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your
    rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

